Press service
The award winners of the Guldbagge Awards on 22 January 2018. Photo: Pelle T Nilsson

Winners of the 2018 Guldbagge Awards

At an awards ceremony, held at Cirkus in Stockholm and broadcasted live, the winners of the Guldbagge Awards 2018 were crowned. The Nile Hilton Incident received five awards, followed by Sámi Blood with three awards, including the Guldbaggen Audience Award. The Square and Borg/McEnroe received two awards each. 

Best Film
The Nile Hilton Incident
Producer: Kristina Åberg 

Best Director
Ruben Östlund
for The Square 

Best Actress in a Leading Role
Lene Cecilia Sparrok
for the role as Elle Marja in Sámi Blood (Sameblod) 

Best Actor in a Leading Role
Fares Fares
for the role as Noredin in The Nile Hilton Incident 

Best Actress in a Supporting Role
Julia Kijowska
for the role as Agnieszka in Strawberry Days 

Best Actor in a Supporting Role
Stellan Skarsgård
for the role as Lennart Bergelin in Borg/McEnroe 

Best Screenplay
Amanda Kernell
for the screenplay for Sámi Blood (Sameblod) 

Best Cinematography
Fredrik Wenzel
for cinematography in The Square 

Best Editing
Anders Skov
for the editing of Sámi Blood (Sameblod) 

Best Costume
Louize Nissen
for the costumes inThe Nile Hilton Incident

Best Sound/Sound Design
Fredrik Jonsäter
for the sound on The Nile Hilton Incident 

Best Makeup
Petra Cabbe
for mask/make-up in Solsidan (english title TBA) 

Best Original Score
Peter von Poehl
for Ravens (Korparna)

Best Set Design
Roger Rosenberg
forThe Nile Hilton Incident 

Best Visual Effects
Torbjörn Olsson and Alex Hansson
for Borg/McEnroe

Best Foreign Language Film
The Salesman
by Asghar Farhadi

Best Documentary Film
by Olivia Kastebring, Mika Gustafson and Christina Tsiobanelis

Best Short Film
The Burden
by Niki Lindroth von Bahr

 The jury consisted of nine members; Anna Carlson, Daniel Espinosa, Nadja Weiss, Elisabeth Ohlson Wallin, Sören Staermose, Anna Asp, Anne-Marie Söhrman Fermelin, Håkon Skogrand and Marek Septimus Wieser.

More awards at the Guldbagge: 

Best Newcomer
director Rojda Sekersöz
for her achievements in Beyond Dreams (Dröm vidare)

Lifetime Achievement Award
The board of the Swedish Film Institute extends the 2018 Lifetime Achievement Award to:
director Stig Björkman

A jury consisting of Anna Carlson, Gila Bergqvist Ulfung, Sanjin Pejkovic, Alexander Haridi, Lisa Andrae and Johan Unenge have decided to give Gullspira 2018 to:
BUFF International Film festival 

The Guldbagge Audience Award
Sámi Blood(Sameblod)
Producer: Lars G. Lindström

The Guldbagge Audience Award (Guldbaggens publikpris) is a new award at the Guldbagge Awards Ceremony. It includes all 41 Swedish feature length films that premiered in cinemas during 2017. The award is produced by The Swedish Film Institute in collaboration with the Swedish news media Aftonbladet.

The Guldbagge Awards ceremony was held 22 January 2018 at Cirkus in Stockholm. Swedish Television (SVT) broadcasted the event live. Petra Mede was this year’s host.

Awarded annually since 1964, the Guldbagge ("Golden Beetle") is the name of the Swedish Film Institute's award for achievements during the previous year. The award itself, in the form of a flower chafer beetle, was designed by the artist Karl Axel Pehrson.

Follow the Guldbagge Awards:
Bios, fun facts and more:

For questions regarding the Guldbagge Awards, please contact:

Head of Press: Jan Göransson
+ 46 706  03 03 62  

Head of Communications: Rebecka Ioannidis Lindberg,
+46 765 01 20 73 

Press Officer: Johanna Löf,
+46 705 33 12 01

For questions regarding the SVT live-broadcast:
Brita Sylvé
+46 733 82 37 69