Photo: Gus Kaage/Film i Väst

EFA: Josefin Åberg wins the European Production Designer award for The Square

Josefin Åsberg wins the European Production Designer 2017 award for The Square when The European Film Academy announces the first winners of the year.

When the jury announced the first winners of the European Film Awards 2017, Josefin Åsberg was awarded best european production designer for her work on Ruben Östlunds The Sqare.

The jury's announcment:
”With great artistic sensibility, the production design in The Square elevates the film by creating a world at the edge to the surreal. In this way the scenography is able to integrate and interact with the story without ever dominating over it. This is the great artistic quality of Josefin Åsberg.”

Josefin Åsberg was awarded for her work on the same film in Cannes earlier this year as she receieved the Prix Vulcain de l’Artiste Technicien 2017 - also for The Square wich is this years Palme d'Or winner.

Read more about the award winners and The European Film Awards here.